Home Table of Contents

§ 2-1. Membership--Appointment and qualifications--Vacancies

Oklahoma Statutes AnnotatedTitle 2. Agriculture

Oklahoma Statutes Annotated
Title 2. Agriculture
Chapter 1. Agricultural Code (Refs & Annos)
Article 2. State Board of Agriculture (Refs & Annos)
2 Okl.St.Ann. § 2-1
§ 2-1. Membership--Appointment and qualifications--Vacancies
A. 1. The State Board of Agriculture shall be the Board of Agriculture created by Section 31 of Article VI of the Oklahoma Constitution. The Board shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Four of such members shall be appointed from within and represent the agricultural district established by subsection B of this section. One member shall be appointed from the state at large.
2. The members shall be farmers who have:
a. at least five (5) years practical experience during the ten (10) years immediately preceding their appointment, and
b. lived on and operated a farm after reaching the age of twenty- one (21) years.
B. For the purpose of appointments to the Board, four agricultural districts are hereby created and shall consist of the following counties:
Atoka, Bryan, Choctaw, Coal, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Marshall, McCurtain, McIntosh, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Seminole and Sequoyah.
Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Mayes, Noble, Nowata, Oklahoma, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Rogers, Tulsa, Wagoner and Washington.
Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kingfisher, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Woods and Woodward.
Beckham, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Kiowa, Love, McClain, Murray, Stephens, Tillman and Washita.
C. One member of the Board shall be appointed from each district.
D. 1. On the effective date of this act,1 each district established by subsection B of this section shall be represented by the current board member position as follows:
a. the board member position currently representing District 5 shall represent the new District 1,
b. the board member position currently representing District 2 shall represent the new District 2,
c. the board member position currently representing District 1 shall represent the new District 3, and
d. the board member position currently representing District 4 shall represent the new District 4.
2. The board member position currently serving District 3 shall be terminated.
3. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, all board members serving on the effective date of this act1 shall serve the remainder of the term of office to which the board member was originally appointed. Thereafter, successor board members shall be appointed for terms of four (4) years. The at-large member shall serve a term coterminous with that of the Governor.
4. In case of vacancy caused by the removal, death, resignation, or disability of any member, the Governor shall appoint a new member from the same district for which a vacancy was vacated to serve for the unexpired term.


Laws 1955, p. 2, art. 2, § 1, emerg. eff. June 3, 1955; Laws 1965, c. 480, § 1, emerg. eff. July 14, 1965; Laws 2000, c. 243, § 3, emerg. eff. May 24, 2000; Laws 2003, c. 242, § 8, emerg. eff. May 23, 2003.


O.S.L.2003, c. 242, emergency effective May 23, 2003.
2 Okl. St. Ann. § 2-1, OK ST T. 2 § 2-1
Current with legislation of the Second Regular Session of the 59th Legislature (2024) effective as of July 1, 2024. Some sections may be more current, see credits for details.
End of Document